Trafficking in Persons in South Africa

Trafficking in Persons in South Africa


Project Description

Research Team

PI Team A:

Margaret Roper
Margaret Roper
Evaluation Expert and Principal Investigator
Khulisa Management Services
mroper@khulisa.com

Co-Pi Team A:

Ajwang Warria
Ajwang Warria
Research Team Lead and Co-Principal Investigator
Department of Social Work at the University of the Witwatersrand
awarria@gmail.com

Marcel van der Watt

Dr. Marcel van der Watt
International Consultant & Research Fellow
Free State Centre for Human Rights, University of the Free State
mvanderwatt@ncose.com

Susan Marx

Ms. Susan Marx
Legal/Policy Expert
Independent
marx.susan@gmail.com

PI-Team B:

Erica Koegler
Erica Koegler
Assistant Professor
University of Missouri-St. Louis
koeglere@umsl.edu

CO-PI-Team B:

Edna Rich
Edna G. Rich
Institution University of the Western Cape
rich.edna2@gmail.com

Rumi Kato Price

Rumi Kato Price
Professor of Psychiatry
Washington University in St. Louis
pricerk@wustl.edu

Nicolette Roman

Nicolette Roman
Institution University of the Western Cape
nroman@uwc.ac.za

Annah Bender

Annah K. Bender
Assistant Professor
University of Missouri-St. Louis
bendera@umsl.edu

Leah Meyer

Leah F. Meyer
Consultant
Human Trafficking Intelligence Project
leah.meyer@htip.org

Project Information

Title of Project: Research on the Nature and Scope of Trafficking In Persons (TIP) in South Africa

Sector: Democracy, Human Rights, and Governance

Country: South Africa

Lead Institution: Khulisa Management Services and University of Missouri – St. Louis

Co-PI Institutions:

University of Witwatersrand, University of Missouri, Colombia, Washington University, St. Louis, University of the Western Cape, Purdue University

Final Budget: $600,000 (per costed extension)

Project Length: 05/18/2020 – 03/18/2022

Research Objective:
This project will collect robust and empirically-based qualitative and quantitative data that will reveal the nature and magnitude of trafficking in persons in South Africa in order to support efforts to increase data’s role in public-policy debates, particularly given the hidden and subversive nature of human trafficking.

Project Description:
The proposed Buy-In activity will conduct research that provides evidence to the Government of South Africa and USAID on the nature and magnitude of trafficking in persons in order to support efforts to have the data play a larger role in public-policy debates on human trafficking. In doing so, it will amplify South African institutional capacity to participate in and lead this process through partnership with US institutions and engagement with the Government of South Africa.

Outputs: Multiple reports, presentations, and media pieces communicating the scope of human trafficking in South Africa.

Overview Presentation

Project Details